Curriculum for Excellence

A new curriculum framework for all Scottish educational establishments 3 - 18, called Curriculum for Excellence, will offer better educational outcomes for all young people and will provide more choices and more chances for those young people who need them.

The aims of Curriculum for Excellence are that every child and young person should know they are valued and will be supported to become:

  • an effective contributor
  • a confident individual
  • a responsible citizen and
  • experience a traditionally broad Scottish curriculum that develops skills for learning, skills for lif and skills for work, with a sustained focus on literacy and numeracy, that encourages an active, healthy and evironmentally sustainable lifestyle and builds an appreciation of Scotland and its place in the world.

The experiences and outcomes under Curriculum for Excellence are written at five levels, with progression to qualifications described under the senior phase.

  • Early level - the pre school and P1 or later for some
  • First level - to the end of P4, but earlier for some
  • Second level - to the end of P7, but earlier for some
  • Third and Fourth - S1 to S3, but earlier for some
  • Senior phase - S4-S6 and college or other means of study

© 2009-2022 Education Services, Inverclyde Council